Back to All Events

Dal Niente in Mexico City III: Delfos Danza

  • Teatro de la Danza, Foro Internacional de Música Nueva Manuel Enriquez (map)

Dal Niente performs three concerts in Mexico City on the Foro Internacional de Música Nueva Manuel Enriquez, the ambitious annual festival of the Mexican Instituto Nacional de Belles Artes (National Institute of the Fine Arts).  At the National Museum of Art, we perform compositions chosen by the Foro’s jury from their international call for scores. At the Palace of the Fine Arts, we perform a program of many of our Chicago-based or Chicago-native collaborators, including a new arrangement by Mexico-born, Chicago-residing Luis Fernando Amaya; also included is a new version of a legendary Mexican composer Julio Estrada’s yuunohui’wah for the solo percussion.  Finally, at the Theater of Dance, we renew our relationship with Deflos Danza Contemporánea (Mazatlan, Mexico) in a program featuring Argentinian-American composer Tomás Gueglio’s Proa (“prow”).


In Chicago-based composer Tomás Gueglio’s Proa (“prow”) for four dancers and harp, harpist and dancers use sound, clothing, and bodies to explore themes of migration, immigration, alienation, and identity. Harpist Ben Melsky, composer Tomás Gueglio, and Delfos dancers developed the sounds, choreography, and structure for this piece during a week-long residency in Mazatlan, Mexico in June of 2017. The work was premiered in Chicago in 2017; this year, Dal Niente and Delfos perform it in Mexico City, with additional collaborations between Delfos and Dal Niente, including Mario Lavista’s Cuaderno di Viaje, with choreography by Delfos’ Xitlali Piña Poujol, and pieces by Salvatore Sciarrino and Luis Fernando Amaya, with improvised choreography by Xitlali Piña, Renato González, and Surasí Lavalle.


This Program is Generously Supported By:


This engagement is supported by Mid Atlantic Arts Foundation through USArtists International in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation.